Testimonials and Reviews

01621 734111

Book for 2019

Telephone bookings now being taken for 2019 holidays.

Call: 01621 734111

  • Lady jumping on a beach in Jersey
  • Kayakers in Jersey
  • Couple looking at a bay in Jersey
  • Dining at L

Testimonials and Reviews

Reviews from past clients

I discovered Travelsmith, while looking for a short break to celebrate my 70th birthday. I filled in a request for information and was contacted by Ms Chelsea Chapman within hours…unfortunately I cannot send emails, but I called her and left my request. Within an hour I received an email (receiving is fine!!!) and Chelsea had found the following deal. Ferry from Portsmouth to Jersey, reserved seat. 4 nights hotel on B&B basis (single en-suite) return ferry to Portsmouth in an en-suite cabin. All in as a foot passenger £230…with my car £300. TRULY fantastic service, wonderful product knowledge and quite brilliant prices. Call them for your best Channel Islands deals…ask for Chelsea Chapman…she’s great. But I’m sure you’ll find that all the staff are ready and willing to help you. Highly recommended.
Robert Patten (January 2018)

I would like to thank you for your help in organising the booking of the ferry and hotel for our recent stay in Jersey to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our break at the Beausite Hotel in Grouville. The staff were so friendly and attentive, and the food and accommodation was excellent. The weather was also very good, but I am sure you were unable to arrange that!
We took out own car, and the arrangements for the crossing on the ferry operated very smoothly.
The whole package was very good value, and we shall certainly consider another visit next year.
Richard and Margaret Campbell (September 2017)

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our trip on the ferry and the experience at the Pontac House Hotel. The ferry was lovely and it was so good to be able to get off and be home within 30 minutes! We were allocated seats with good views, so we were happy with where we sat.
We felt the Pontac House was exceptional, with friendly and efficient service, good facilities and excellent meals at very good prices. We normally like to vary where we eat, but felt their fixed price menu offered a range of good food and was really good value – so we didn’t bother going elesewhere.
All told, we loved Jersey and are already thinking about when to go again – so many thanks for your help.
John & Heather, Bournemouth (October 2016)

Thought I’d let you know what a brilliant weekend we had in Jersey. Everything, that is or seats on the Condor, hotel and room at the Beausite was excellent! Even the position of the Beausite Hotel couldn’t have been any better as we walked our Schnauzer dog over the Jersey Golf course twice a day…even in the rain. Our only complaint would have been the weather though we did manage one beautiful sunny day with the top down on my car.
Thank you for your help in our booking, everything was perfect.
Mr and Mrs Pye, Birmingham (July 2016)

My wife and I decided to return to Guernsey for a holiday and contacted Travelsmith. Their friendly, efficient,reliable staff organised everything including our chosen sailing times and dates on Condor Ferry both out and in bound. The staff made the arrangements for our car, reserved the on-board seating as requested coordinating dates with the hotel of our choice. They also organised the reservation of the room we requested. Everything went smoothly and we enjoyed our very relaxing holiday. Thank you Travelsmith.
Mike and Joan Carter, Porthleven Cornwall. (June 2016)

We stayed at the Westhill for 4 days at the beginning of June and cannot praise it enough. The accommodation was bright, airy and very clean, the staff were absolutely fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for them. The dining room is laid out in such a way that everyone has enough room but you could speak to fellow diners with ease and the food was absolutely excellent and plenty of it.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that within two days of our return we have booked to go back in September and we have never done that before.
…I would also like to thank Travelsmith for their care and attention to detail. Have recommended you to several people and that again, is something we rarely do.
M Watkins (June 2016)

We have just returned from an excellent short break on the island of Sark. I just wanted to give you some positive feedback, both about booking with you and staying at La Sablonnerie.
You dealt with my booking very efficiently and it was very welcoming to see a travel agent at Guernsey port with our onward sailing tickets to Sark, especially considering it was a Sunday.
I cannot recommend La Sablonnerie hotel on Little Sark enough. Instead of a bedroom for three, we were given full use of a five bedroom cottage. A fire was burning in the hearth when we arrived (after a horse and carriage transfer). When we came back from dinner, we had hot water bottles in our beds. The owner, Elizabeth Perree was very welcoming, as was Nigel, who looked after us. I should think any of your guests would be amazed at this place and at the island itself.
Thank you again.
Mrs L Mains, Dorset (June 2016)

We have just returned from our break in the Channel Islands. We had 5 nights in Guernsey followed by 5 nights in Jersey. We would like to say a big THANK YOU to your for helping us with our booking. Your advice was spot on and went towards making our holiday so enjoyable. Both hotels were excellent and the staff so helpful. The local people were all friendly and told us the best places to go.
Thank you once again.
Carole and Chris of Peterborough (May 2016)

Booked a hotel/ferry package with Condorbreaks, who took care of everything superbly. They even provided public car park pre paid coupons, for example, which shows their high standard of detail.
Stayed in a Panoramic Suite (Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel).
Room:-
Unbeatable view of the harbour and bay. Separate lounge, hallway and additional cloakroom with basin. Very comfortable bed and linens. Bathroom well appointed. Very high standard of daily housekeeping and turn down service.
Food:-
Substantial breakfast buffet, with additional items cooked to order at no extra charge. Small fee for eggs benedict. Three course dinner on half board. Plenty of choice on the menu which changed every three days. Alternative items available from the a la carte menu for a small charge. All food to a good standard and excellent value for money given the very reasonable price paid for half board.
Staff:-
Plenty of inexperienced staff here, but it was never an issue. Service was always friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.
Other:-
Public areas have been renovated to a very high standard. Car park has plenty of capacity, but can be busy if there is a function. Wi-Fi was mostly good, but had a few issues on our last couple of days.
All in all, a really good hotel which I highly recommend.
Jonathan, from Berkshire (May 2016)

I phoned up on Saturday regarding our holiday to Jersey….we missed the ferry, a journey that should have taken 4 hours at the most took 7 hours. I spoke to an absolutely lovely lady called Lynda, the service she gave us was outstanding, she tried everything she could to help us whilst at the same time being very empathetic. I received a phone call from her today following up from Saturday, she left a message on my mobile and even went to the trouble of calling us on our home phone.
Lynda set the gold standard for customer care. Please would you make sure that the powers that be know what an excellent employee they have.
Mrs V Butcher (July 2015)

Thank you so much for your swift and efficient response… I will now definitely recommend your service and Condorbreaks. We had such a wonderful time in that beautiful island and the Hotel Miramar was perfect in every way. I …thoroughly recommended the Miramar and hopefully I will be rebooking through you again. I am very impressed by your service.
Thank you on behalf of my husband and myself.
Eleanor and Richard, Burton on Trent (July 2015)

We travelled to Jersey on the 29/05/2015 on the Liberation Catamaran and although a rough crossing it was still enjoyable as you had booked us 2 Ocean Traveller Plus reclining seats that had spectacular views and was very roomy and comfortable and the catamaran appeared to handle well although rocked from side to side a bit but it was to be expected as the waves were pretty high.
We were met on time at Jersey Harbour and taken to the Old Bank House Hotel that we could find no fault with whatsoever. It was friendly, clean, pleasant and had an easy accessible bedroom as requested and the breakfasts were excellent…
…We were picked up on the 6/06/2015 well on time and had a wonderful calm crossing back to Poole on this wonderful Catamaran which is thoughtfully laid out and overall we had a great holiday.
Just wanted to thank all of your staff for their co-operation when we made the initial call to book the holiday and all the help we were given along the way and to all the crew of the Liberation who work very hard to keep things going and under control. We will definitely be looking to book with you again around the same same time next year if not before.
Miss Perry, Croydon (May – June 2015)

We had a nice break in Jersey, made easier by your concern for our welfare, especially Mishka our now 14yr old Peke, who was rather anxious about the trip on Condor but quickly recovered once on land again. We upgraded to Ocean plus on the way home and had fantastic grandstand seats.
Must say how pleased we were with the Pontac House Hotel, very friendly helpful staff including the proprietor and good food, would certainly go there again if in Jersey.
The weather was perfect for us, we managed to see most of the North coast having been familiar with the South from our sailing days.
Mrs and Mrs Nicholls, Devon (April 2015)

Really enjoyed our holiday booked through you.The Old Court House Hotel was fantastic, the staff very friendly and the food was amazing. If you get any special offers for next year please forward them to me. No holidays planned for this winter mores the pity but thank you for organizing this one.
Mr and Mrs Barron (September 2014)

My wife Kris & I just returned from our recent holiday to Bella Luce Hotel in Guernsey, and would like to thank you and your colleagues for your kind arrangements in this regard, all went according to schedule.
The Hotel Bella Luce was an excellent choice of accommodation, Room & Facilities all as portrayed in the brochure.

In particular the Hotel Manager – Ricardo and his Team were extremely helpful and attentive, the Restaurant Food and Service was faultless and to excellent standards.
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay in this Hotel.
Many Thanks
Mr Ken O’Brien (September 2014)

Just to say, we had a fantastic holiday in Jersey. Everything went like clockwork, hotel excellent as was the weather! Wouldn’t hesitate to book with you again so any special offers you have in the future, please email them to me.
Thank you so much, it was the holiday of my year.
M Martin (August 2014)

Had to send you a card to say that this hotel (Hougue du Pommier) is just perfect! We have a beautiful room in a kind of garden annexe, a 4 poster too! and Malcolm is lovely, most helpful and he sends his regards to you. We have had very good weather so far, and we’re hoping to go to Herm on Tuesday, and Sark later in the week. Thank you so much for everything you’ve done to make this such a memorable experience.
Best wishes
R & V Ecceleston (July 2014)

Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and found our stay in both hotels a real pleasure.

Windmills Hotel, St Brelade, Jersey:
Overlooking St Brelade and Ouaisne Bays, the views from the back bedrooms and dining room are spectacular. We received a warm welcome on arrival and given a detailed explanation of how to locate the facilities e.g. dining room, lounge, lift, swimming pool and changing room. Our room was clean and spacious with a large double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities.

The food in the restaurant was good with a nice choice for breakfast and dinner. There was also a “specials board” in the evening and a wide selection of bar meals for those who preferred less formal dining. During our stay we found all the staff to be polite, friendly and always willing to help without being over-bearing. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend it as a well-run hotel.

La Barbarie Hotel, St Martin, Guernsey:
The hotel is situated in a narrow country lane although the bus to and from St Peter Port stops right outside the hotel. We received a friendly welcome on arrival and were shown the facilities e.g. bar, dining room, lounge and swimming pool.

Our room was spacious with an en-suite bathroom, large double bed, TV, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities. The food throughout our stay was excellent and the restaurant which is open to non-residents has a very good reputation locally for fine dining.

We found the staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful (happy to post your letters and book taxis for you). La Barbarie certainly added to the enjoyment of our return to Guernsey after nearly 37 years.

Once again, many thanks for all your help in organising the trip.
Yours sincerely,
Chris & Hilary Smith, Worthing (July 2014)

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our holiday in Guernsey. The accommodation was excellent as were the hotel facilities and the travel arrangements worked superbly. Your local courier, Gill, tried to contact us to make sure all was well, but we were out and about enjoying ourselves!
H & E Pizzey (May 2014)

We returned yesterday from a three night break based on the Pandora Hotel in Guernsey, and would like to acknowledge our satisfaction and thanks for a really enjoyable time.

Unfortunately the fast ferry suffered an engine problem in worsening weather conditions on Friday, but the crew were helpful and caring during the extended crossing (5 hours), and the Captain was good at keeping us informed of the problems and our progress.

The hotel was excellent for the laid-back break we had planned. The staff were helpful and friendly, everything was clean and comfortable, and the food was outstanding (particularly the “specials” each evening). It has had a lot of investment recently, and we feel it is worth more than its current two stars.

And lastly, dealing with Travelsmith / Condorbreaks has been a pleasure.
Thank you. With best wishes,
Mr & Mrs Turner, Suffolk (April 2013)

We booked a four day break in Guernsey commencing 11 March for our joint birthdays, through you, and Condor Ferries. We kept keeping in touch with you regarding our non-arrival due to the bad weather. We just wanted to thank you and your staff for the consideration and courtesy shown to us during our ordeal and to say that we shall certainly use your company again for future holidays in the channel islands. The staff who spoke to us on the telephone were so nice, and we wanted to ask you to pass on our very grateful appreciation.

We were due to stay at La Villette. Again the staff at the hotel were also very helpful.

We look forward to using your company again in the future, – when all the snow has gone!!!
R & M Adderley, Stoke-on-Trent (March 2013)

On 24th Sept I booked a Jersey break with you for five nights, B&B at The Merton Hotel. My wife and I had a super break and I wish to thank the Travelsmith staff most sincerely for the confident and professional way you handled my booking, kept me informed and posted the documents etc. needed for travel. The Merton hotel was superb and I will be sending them a complimentary e-mail also. Condor Ferries were pretty good too! I felt very safe in your hands! Many thanks and you could well hear from me again in the future.
Mr Bush from Isle of Wight (October 2012)

Just a short note to say how impressed we were with our short break in Guernsey and your efficiency as a company.Needing to book and travel at short notice we wondered if we would make it. However, you sorted it out and the hotel was great, food superb, and the staff the best I have ever encountered, all the travel arrangements went according to plan and all your directions etc. spot on, and although we were attending a funeral, so quite sad, we did enjoy the extra day. For value for money you could not possibly be beaten.
We are now going to go back next year so rest assured we shall use your company again and I shall recommend you to everyone. Thank you especially Linda for all your help.
Bob Ward (April 2012)

Thank you for your amazing efforts at making our break in Jersey possible, after a disastrous start with Flybe flights all cancelled due to fog at St. Helier, we came home from Gatwick feeling very dejected, we phoned your company, and you took our problems made them your own, and found different travelling arrangements by Ferry the next day, and overnight Ferry return home, you arranged with the hotel to keep our room open for the new departure date. We cannot thank you enough for the outstanding work you undertook on our part. Our holiday was a huge success especially as it was for my wife’s special birthday. If l knew your manager’s name l would have addressed this email to him or her. Please show this to the persons concerned in promotion of your company, ‘you excelled.’
Mr & Mrs D. Scott (March 2012)

Thanks for the email and yes we had a lovely holiday at the Monterey and will definitely be going back. Once again many thanks for changing our holiday and I am sure we will use your company again.
Best wishes
Mr L & Mrs A Benson (November 2011)